The Art of Decay: Wood

There’s a beauty to death and decay, so in the spirit of Vanitas, the death of trees. The first four photos are of dead trees still standing on my property. Unlike many people, I don’t mind feralness, and am anything but fanatical about keeping my environs golf course neat. Dead trees host a great deal of life, much of it not overly visible to us, and they provide important nesting and shelter for a variety of wildlife.  Images 1300 x, click for larger size.

AD1n

AD2n

AD3n

AD4n

AD5n

AD6n

6 thoughts on “The Art of Decay: Wood

  1. Oh, and Rick…the 4th shot is the tree right outside my studio window, and I am crazy about that section of the tree. I covet it something awful.

  2. The colors and patterns of wood always fascinate me. Also, good on you understanding the importance of dead trees and tree cavities in the ecosystem. My local Cavity Conservation group would be pleased.

  3. I wish more people understood the ecological importance! Here in Dakota, we’re losing Red-Headed Woodpeckers (Melanerpes erythrocephalus) due to all the idiots cutting down dead wood and clearing it.

    For the life of me, I don’t know why people move rural, when they can’t stand “mess” or wildlife.

  4. Regarding 4th pic: Just that section of tree? How big a section are you wanting? I think that is an American Elm.
    The top needs to be cut so it won’t fall on our house or the neighbors during a storm. Cut to 15 feet and inoculated with Shitake, it could provide shelter for wildlife, and a cash crop, too.

  5. Well, I would just want a shallow cut from the surface of the tree, but it’s not vital I have it, I just don’t want anyone else to get ahold of it and destroy it or anything. That’s an interesting idea, but I think 15 feet is too short – the woodpeckers, nuthatches, and chickadees are all over that tree, all the time. We’ll have a good look at it, and see what to do.

Leave a Reply

