Cheap & Lazy

The cheap, lazy way to have a raised bed (in this case, for herbs): 1) buy cheap kiddie pool (ours, Big Lots, $18.00), set up on whatever is taking space in your habitat, fill with dirt and vermiculite (on sale!), mix, plant, drill holes around the side. Done.  Next: set up itsy bitsy teeny weeny greenhouse, bought cheap ($60.00 at Big Lots), which will be used to grow mixed lettuces for the rats.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Pool, insta herb garden
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Pool, insta herb garden
Erecting the tinker toy, er greenhouse
Erecting the tinker toy, er greenhouse
Getting to work on lettuces planting
Getting to work on lettuces planting
7 thoughts on “Cheap & Lazy

  1. “Great minds…”

    Though we looked at the kiddie pools at Big Lots, the cheapy kiddie pool at Walmart (cursed be its name) were less than $10, for a slightly larger area, so we went with with that. It’s not like I was dead-set on having Ninja Turtles guarding my veggies, anyways.

    I’m not totally sure how well our little “garden plot” is gonna work out, though; it’s essentially a test to see whether it is now possible for me to not kill plants, with a sorta kinda Three Sisters set-up (corn, green beans, and pumpkins), and it’s on part of our driveway, which is very important for my ability to access it (for weeding and picking and watering purposes) even if I have to do it from a wheeled chair.

    I’m not sure I’ve got enough depth with the pool for the corn to grow all the way up—though it is still at least superficially healthy—and I don’t know whether climbing green beans are sufficiently “beans” for the purpose at hand. I don’t expect trouble from the pumpkins, though, since all a pumpkin is is any edible variety of squash. And I’m unsure whether I’ve spaced ’em all too close.

    However, this is a test, so Complete Failure is an option. :)

  2. Cool. I had a v similar mini greenhouse: just be aware the slightest puff of wind carries them away, even if pegged down. Woke up one morning to find it over a hedge and in the next field, with a bent frame…

  3. Oh, I know. With the winds we get here, I don’t expect it to last more than the season, and we went and got actual pegs, rather than use the ones that came with.

Leave a Reply

