New Shiny

My new Nook HD+ arrived today. This is nothing more than a pure, privileged indulgence on my part, as I didn’t need it at all, my nook tablet works just fine, and I’ve been very happy with it. There are a few things I’m pissy about, but overall, I’m happy with it.  Pissy stuff: the plug is a proprietary large pin instead of a micro usb, therefor incompatible with bloody everything outside a laptop, the cord is much shorter, I don’t like the home page layout and the keyboard click option is gone. Gee, I managed a lot of complaining for a new toy.  I should shut up now. I’ll go play.

HD

12 thoughts on “New Shiny

  1. Shiny!
    A couple of days ago I bought an iPad mini.
    (I have weight and volume restrictions on my luggage for work.)
    So far I really hate it but I can haz lots of free books.
    Jane Austin, here I come.

  2. Every once in a while it feels good to indulge! I’m contemplating a Kindle Paperwhite or iPad mini, though that last comment has me thinking harder.

  3. Chigau, oh, an iPad mini, nice! What do you hate?

    Miranda, I suppose if I were going to go iPad, I’d get the real deal. I’ve never had a Kindle, but I have been very happy with my nooks. This new one is a very good deal, at $149.00 – hard to beat and I am fair impressed with it, even for all my grumbling. Whatever you get, they are serious nice to have, and I’ve been right spoiled with e-books.

  4. Very shiny. (I have nothing more germane to add about nooks or Kindles, or ipads since I don’t own any of them. :D)

  5. Caine
    Sorry to use your site to troubleshoot my iPad.
    I’m starting to like it more but “intuitive” doesn’t seem to be working out for me.
    This real computer lets me use my password but the iPad is being shirty.

    The iPad knows where it is.
    I took photos out the bus window and it showed me on a map where each picture was taken.
    Creepy?

  6. I took photos out the bus window and it showed me on a map where each picture was taken.
    Creepy?

    Um…yes. There’s location stuff on the nook, too. I disabled it.

  7. Very shiny. (I have nothing more germane to add about nooks or Kindles, or ipads since I don’t own any of them. :D)

    I resisted for a long time, but I’ve gotten seriously spoiled by e-books. They don’t take up room (and the house is already overflowing with books – we’ve long run out of bookcases) and I can highlight and write notes to my mind’s content, and not be ‘ruining’ a book.

    Rick’s been reading more since he got his tablet too, because he always has good light source, and he can adjust the font size.

  8. I haven’t been able to convince my husband as yet of the benefits of owning an e-book reader, but I suspect it will only be a matter of time before he will give in to the inevitable.

    I hope your week has improved. I can’t really say that mine has.

    I turned 51 today. In and of itself, I had a good birthday with Dave and Chloe (whose purring attention rarely fails to lift my spirits).

    It’s the other stuff that has made it a difficult week. I just learned need to maintain a low cholesterol diet as well as a gluten free* one, which has made eating rather boring while I try to sort it all out. I need to see an opthamologist because my eyes are very dry and not tracking quite right. And my doctor definitely wants me to have that colonoscopy this year. She even put Dave on my case about it. I think my warranty has expired.

    But the kicker has been my mother’s rapid deterioration. She’s 87. Her birthday card to me revealed everything I feared about her condition. She says her brain and her hands are at odds, which was quite evident from the envelope, and emphasized by her last sentence, “Things are getting worse.” And when I spoke to her today, she didn’t know it was my birthday. I will be talking with one of my sisters tomorrow to consider what all needs to be done. Fuck.

    Thank you, thank you for sharing your rats and photos. They made me smile when things were dark today.

    *That portion of the equation has been my lot for the last two years. I miss bread, but I like being able to think clearly much, much more.

  9. Oh, Happy Birthday, A! I’m glad it was a good one. I’ll be 56 this year, it all slides by too fast. I know what you mean about the warranty running out – mine is in another universe by now.

    I am so sorry about what’s happening with your mum. It’s such a shit situation, for everyone. I hope you are paying attention to what you need too, because it’s hard to give support and make decisions when you aren’t getting any care yourself.

  10. Thanks, Caine. I’m trying to keep a close eye on my health and needs. At the moment, my siblings are convinced that Mom’s doing all right. Since they’re in the same city and I am not, I must rely on their judgement until I get there on the 16h. At least I’ll have a little over a week with her to analyze her situation. It’s much harder for her to hide her difficulties when someone observant is living with her.

    Based on my gut feelings, knowledge of her, and previous experience with my mother-in-law, for whom I was the primary caretaker for four months, I don’t think the true situation is as rosy as my siblings want it to be. They are definitely in denial about both her condition and how long we will have to put her affairs in order while she is skill capable of doing so.

    I hope all is well with you, Rick, and the ratties. I’ll be thinking about you all, but I won’t be around for the next few days as Dave and I need to go to New York tomorrow for business. (Well, Dave is going for business. I get to go to the American Museum of Natural History. Yay!)

    After we come home, I start preparing and packing for my trip to Wisconsin, so I won’t be around much unless I unexpectedly come across internet access and a computer simultaneously. Take care and *hugs and chocolate*

  11. Yes, it’s difficult to admit a parent might not have much time left to get things in order, the way they want and try to figure out the best situation for them. Best of luck when you go visit.

    Things are good here with everyone, just busy, usual stuff. Oooh, the museum! I’ve always wanted to wander around in there for about a month. :D Have a great time! Travel safe and take good care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

