Unambiguous Shades of Gray

There’s a back story to this project, yet another in the endless line of projects.  I don’t know when I’ll get around to finishing it, but I had to get it started because it’s been persistently inhabiting my head.

Recently, in a thread on Pharyngula, I mentioned having been raped to someone commenting. Their reaction was…novel.  Apparently, they were so darned shocked they unilaterally decided I was not allowed to talk about being raped because it might hurt my feelings.  Yep, you read right.  After several tries, on my part and the part of others, to get through to this person, I lost my patience, which resulted in this post by me. So, now I have this little project which will be a reminder to never, ever allow anyone to silence me or others who have been raped. Our voices are important.

Eta: Just in case someone feels this isn’t appropriate for a child to see – children get raped, too.  I know, I was one.  If a child does see this, first and foremost, I want them to know  they are not alone. I’d like them find strength in that, to find compassion and empathy and whatever else they need.  I’d hope they would find their voice, to speak out, loudly so, and to know, always, that it is never a case of them being at fault.

We are legion.

We are legion.

22 thoughts on “Unambiguous Shades of Gray

  1. Thanks, Chigau. They already have faces. We know who we are. It’s small, 8.5″ x 6.5″ – once I settle down to work on it, it shouldn’t take too long.

  2. I just love this–and it inspires me. I know I said it was wonderful on Pharyngula, but it definitely is worth repeating.

  3. Hey Caine, sorry I ain’t been around Pharyngula. Going through some depressing shit and completely out of spoons. But I still had to come and throw my support your way. Never let them silence you.

  4. Thank you, Hekuni Cat! It’s coming along, steadily.

    Coyote! I’ve been thinking about you and I miss you. I hope things start looking up for you and it would be really nice to see you back at Pharyngula again, too. ♥

    Thank you, Maureen! I’m taking care of the wrist, too.

  5. Hi, long-time Pharyngula lurker and reader of both your blogs – I just wanted to say that this is awesome. Also, I admire you and your art in general.

  6. Thanks Caine, Cicely, and Hekunicat! I keep meaning to drop back into pharyngula but I’ve been as I said, depressed, and distracted as well. I can however be found on PET and the IRC for it, as well as the A+ forums (though I’ve been distracted there too).

    Still, I’ve missed you all.

  7. Eventually, Caine. Right now… I’m really hard to be around. All I can focus on these days is my own failure at life and being human. (I know people are gonna chime in to this and remind me that I don’t fail at humanity… but I do.)

    I really need to like, fix my self but I don’t know how nor really think it’s possible at this moment.

  8. Okay, Coyote, I won’t push anymore. Just remember, you aren’t forgotten and we do care. If there’s anything at all I can do, even if it’s just to listen, feel free to e-mail me or show up here at the blog, whatever.

  9. Thanks Caine. I might take you up on that. For now though, this blogpost is about something much more important than my own depression and so I’ll stop hijacking the thread.

  10. I’m also a lurker on Pharyngula, I’ve never commented on your blog before but just wanted to say that I love this project of yours looking at it I felt a weird combination of sadness and empowerment. I hope to see more of it as it develops. Anyway, thanks for never shutting up because sometimes I (and I am sure others too) feel incapable of speaking up. I don’t know how to express how I feel when I read your comments taking the cupcakes (can others use this insult too?) down but you make me feel enormously better.

  11. Hallo, Lexie. Sadness and empowerment is a good description. I’m working on it right now – when I get a bit further along, I’ll do another post on it, with a picture.

    I know a lot of people have trouble speaking up, and that’s okay. That’s one of the reasons we get extra noisy, because we aren’t speaking just for ourselves.

    Cupcake is an all purpose insult, open to all. :D Thank you very, very much. ♥

  12. Pingback: Slowly I work…stitch by stitch…inch by inch « Needled

  13. Read the post, sounds rather silly that someone would repeatedly insist /you/ be quiet about your own rape story. I think if it was too much of a risk for you to open up about, you’d know.

  14. Well yes, I would know, however that didn’t stop this person keeping up with their insistence I not talk about it, it went on for hundreds of posts.

Leave a Reply

